American Speedway  

2017 California Results Page

2016 California Results Page


Perris Raceway

1205 Burton Road
Perris, California

Team Racing Round 2
Perris Raceway February 4, 2017
By: Steve Evans dreamteamspeedway@sbcglobal.net
Dorcey Wingo Photos

Results from Perris and are Continued Below...

  Dorcey Wingo Photos  
Perris Raceway Perris Raceway Perris Raceway
Ricky Wells John Cook Peter Davenport - Team Manager
Perris Raceway Perris Raceway Perris Raceway
Greg Hancock with friends Ricky Wells and Broc Nicol King muffler exhaust insert. Pee Wee action
Perris Raceway Perris Raceway Perris Raceway
Gavin Geist with flag Mini Bike Main Event Mini Bike Main winner Conner Hickerson
Perris Raceway Perris Raceway Perris Raceway
150cc Main Event 150cc - Jose Navarrete leads Andrew Russell 150cc -Wilbur Hancock
Perris Raceway Perris Raceway Perris Raceway
150cc - Jose Navarrete 250cc -Jake Isaac Gage Geist
Perris Raceway Perris Raceway Perris Raceway
Shaun Harmatiuk Pam Bennett Event 8 - Dillon, Max and Broc
Perris Raceway Perris Raceway Perris Raceway
Hayley Perrault Event 49 - Team Racing Heat 16 - B Main Event Rohn Zellner
Perris Raceway Perris Raceway Perris Raceway
B Main Event action, Geist and Hamill Joey Donaldson Brad Moreau
Perris Raceway Perris Raceway Perris Raceway
Valdez, Rick and Rudy Lauer (L) Sebastian Palmese Sidecar Main action Motis and Jones
Perris Raceway Perris Raceway Perris Raceway
Sidecar #64 Dillon Osborne and Johnny Glover Sidecar Main Event Sidecar Main Event winners Duckett and Fishman

Perris Raceway report, 4th February 2017

The first Speedway event of 2017 in the USA was one that produced close and intense racing in literally every division, in a night where Team USA launched its World Cup campaign. Ricky Wells was the standout rider with 17 points and victory in the Main Event, whist team USA boss Lance King was able to see at least another half dozen team contenders in action on a European sized track. Both team races were one sided score wise, as the Aces dominated the Eagles in a 58-33 win, and the Vikings defeated the Heathens 57-38, but the action on track was far from one way traffic. The wins for the Aces and the Vikings means that all four teams have one win and one defeat going into the finals on 18 March, which gives every single team a legitimate shot at winning the title.

Huntington Beach Heathens 38 – Ventura Vikings 57
Ricky Wells' 17 point haul helped the Vikings to a comfortable win over the Heathens. Heat 1 saw a long awaited showdown with track master Luke Becker and Wells, the 17 year old Becker making a fantastic gate and then slamming the door on Wells as he made a powerful inside dive on turn three. Becker won their first outing, though Wells fought back to win in each of the remainder of their four encounters. Becker can definitely hold his high head high, keeping pace with the British league star throughout. Whilst Wells scored 17 points his team mates equally need acknowledging. Mike Bloom scored a superb 13, Harold Hartke scored two wins in a 9+2 haul, whilst Kurtis Hamill went about business well with 8+2. The Heathens did not have the depth of the Vikings, Though Shaun Harmatiuk scored two wins on his way to 9, with Rohn Zellner and Joey Donaldson each contributing 8.

Perris Eagles 33 – Santa Maria Aces 58.
The Aces gave an utterly dominant display in their victory over the Eagles. After an opening heat 4-2, where Max Ruml of the Aces led home Gage Geist and Broc Nicol, the Aces got four consecutive maximums in a row to lead 24-7 after 5 races. Notable early heat performance was from Hayley Perrault of the Aces in heat three, charging by Rick Valdez and Ron Davis. The 'big four' of Geist and Dillon Ruml (Eagles) and Max Ruml and Nicol (Aces) put on a great display with no one rider dominating their meetings. Geist and Max Ruml won two heats each with Dillon Ruml getting one win. Though the Aces have arguably the best top two in the league, it was actually the middle and lower order where the Aces won the match. Rudy Laurer top scored on 13+1 with Hayley Perrault scoring 12+2 ahead of Max Ruml on 11 and Kenny Hansen on 9+1. Perrault and Laurer were both unbeaten by an opponent after four heats but a great win from Robbie Sauer in heat 15 prevented their maximums. Dillon Ruml with 10 and Gage Geist with 8 top scored for the Eagles.

The main event featured the top scorer from the Division 1 riders of each team, with points still counting towards the team scores. Ricky Wells made the gate from 1 with Becker following him home once again. The Ruml brothers had an epic battle for third with Dillon leading home his older brother.

There was plenty of action with 7 other divisions. Lawrence McNutt won all Support Class races a trend which continued in the other classes; Sebastian Palmese (250), Jose Navarrete (150 Division 2), Gavin Geist (Pee Wee) and Connor Hickerson (Mini Bikes). Glenn Geist won both 150 Division 1 heats with the Main going to Lightning Luke Whitcomb. Sidecars had two wins in the heats going to Joe Jones and Dave German and one to Dillon Osborne and Johnny Glover. The Main however had a superb victory to underdogs Adam Duckett and Matt Fishman.

The next race at Perris is the Team race finals on Saturday March 18th. As all four teams have one victory and one defeat, all are still title contenders for what should be an exciting series finale.

Eagles 33 – Geist 8, Davis 4, Sauer 4, Valdez 5, D Ruml 10, Smith 2, Bennett 0.
Aces 58 – M Ruml 11, Perrault 12+2, R/R, Laurer 13+1, Nicol 7+2, Moreau 6+2, Hansen 9+1.

Heathens 38 – Becker 11, Bowen 2, Harmatiuk 9, Donaldson 8, Facchini 1, Osmer 0, Zellner 8+1
Vikings 57 – Wells 17, Bloom 13, R/R, Hartke 9+2, Hamill 8+2, McNutt 4+1, Bryant 5.

League Table
    Won Lost Points Scored Points Against
1. Vikings 1 1 100 81
2. Aces 1 1 98 84
3. Heathens 1 1 89 97
4. Eagles 1 1 81 101

142 Ricky Wells
22 Luke Becker
111 Dillon Ruml
5 Max Ruml

B MAIN (1 rider nominated per team by managers)
10 Gage Geist
41 Kurtis Hamill
177 Steve Bowen
4 Broc Nicol (fell)

275 Lawrence McNutt
109 Don Nemarnik
303 Dennis Osmer (20)
323 Stewart Armas
215 Greg Wills fell
220 Tom Bryant fell

1 Sebastian Palmese
16 Jake Isaac
214 Michael Wells

150 MINI DIV 1
27 Luke Whitcomb
33 Glenn Geist
48 Jose Navarrete
96 Andrew Russell

150 MINI DIV 2
48 Jose Navarrete
96 Andrew Russell
117 Wilbur Hancock
42 Czane Dunbar
16 Cole Ayers (non starter)

6 Gavin Geist
3 Levi Leutz
77 Asher Hollis
71 Hudson Hollis
31 Harli Facchini

33 Adam Duckett / Matt Fishman
1 Joe Jones / Dave German
2 Bryan Motis / Charlie Davis
64 Dillon Osborne / Johnny Glover (non starter)

45 Conner Hickerson
313 Marc Heathfield
163 Ron Davis

Discover something new.

www.speedwaybikes.com - All rights reserved.