American Speedway  

2014 Pirate Speedway
Race Results

All Speedway Race Results

2014 California Results

Pirate Speedway


Pirate Speedway
National Orange Show
San Bernardino, California

FST Sand and Gravel Night May 2, 2014 - Pirate Speedway - San Bernardino
Report By: Ryan Evans
Photos by: Dorcey Wingo

"Mad" Max Ruml showed that his future is now by collecting his first Scratch Main Event victory on FST Sand and Gravel Night at Pirate Speedway. Continued below...

2014 Pirate Speedway 2014 Pirate Speedway 2014 Pirate Speedway
Pee Wee Main Event Cameron Titterness and Cole Ayers (inside) go at it. 150cc Main Event
2014 Pirate Speedway 2014 Pirate Speedway 2014 Pirate Speedway
Luke Whitcomb (inside) and Dakota Shockley, close formation. 150cc Champ, Sebastian Palmese taking another Main Event. 250cc Main Event, 2nd Start.
2014 Pirate Speedway 2014 Pirate Speedway 2014 Pirate Speedway
250cc Champ Dillon Ruml (left) and #104 Kurtis Hamill. Support Division, Main Event. Chris Jones, being stalked by the kid, Dalton Leedy.
2014 Pirate Speedway 2014 Pirate Speedway 2014 Pirate Speedway
Chris Wiggins, feeling the heat from Leedy. Support Rider #91 Phil Bast joins in the fun. 1st Division action: With Blair in the lead, Rick Valdez loses traction and parks it.
2014 Pirate Speedway 2014 Pirate Speedway 2014 Pirate Speedway
1st Division Last Chance: Broc Nicol breaks the tapes... Tyson Burmeister makes the Main Event. 1st Division Main - 1st Start: Eddie gets the jump...
2014 Pirate Speedway 2014 Pirate Speedway 2014 Pirate Speedway
1st Division Main - 1st Lap almost in. As Max Ruml leads, Novratil bails in traffic. 1st Division Main - Restart, without Burmeister and Novratil. Max Ruml takes the Main Event, convincingly!
2014 Pirate Speedway 2014 Pirate Speedway 2014 Pirate Speedway
Ruml's celebration wheelie. Sidecar Main Event  Joe Jones and Johnny Glover, taking the Sidecar Main.

Max Ruml led the first attempt while a fierce three-rider battle was developing behind him. Austin Novratil, "Fast" Eddie Castro, and Tyson Burmeister were three-abreast through turn three. Novratil lifted upon exiting turn four which took him across Castro and toward the fence. Novratil dismounted but his bike collected Burmeister just as it impacted the fence. Burmeister, who had nowhere to go, then ran over the prone Novratil and went tumbling to the ground himself. Both riders were down for several minutes but each was able to gingerly leave the track. Novratil was excluded from the restart and Burmeister was too shaken up to participate.

Max Ruml jumped in front on the restart as well with "Battling" Buck Blair and Castro chasing after him. Max Ruml established a comfortable lead ahead of Blair who was hoping for a mistake. Max Ruml didn't turn a wheel wrong and led the entire distance to collect the first of what should be many Scratch Main Event victories. Blair had to settle for second and Castro finished third.

Burmeister opened the evening with a victory ahead of Russell Green. Castro scored his first victory in event two. Tyson Talkington defeated Rocco Scopellite in event three. Max Ruml finished the first round by earning his first win of the night.

Talkington started the second round by defeating former Junior National Champion Jason Ramirez. Broc Nicol beat Blair in the next event. Burmeister scored his second win in a row. Max Ruml ended round two by beating Novratil.

Castro began round three with his second win. Nicol won his second straight race in event 22. Novratil beat Burmeister in the next heat. Blair concluded the heats with a win ahead of Max Ruml.

Novratil and Castro finished one-two in the first semi and transferred to the main event. Ruml won the second semi with Blair following him into the main by finishing second.

Burmeister completed the main event field by winning the Last Chance. Talkington was second, Green finished third, and Nicol was credited with fourth after breaking the tapes.

Chris Wiggins led the first two laps of the Support Main Event. Dalton Leedy weaved through traffic from the 40 yard line and only had Wiggins in front of him on lap three. Leedy went by the leader as they started lap four and he raced away with his third straight Support Main Event victory. Wiggins held on to second, Ron Davis finished third, Steve "Beach Ball" Brown was fourth, Kevin Fife finished fifth, and Chris Jones was sixth.

Junior National Champion Dillon Ruml fought off the persistent challenge of Kurtis Hamill to win the Junior 250 Main Event for the third week in a row. Courtney Crone was third, Michael Wells finished fourth, and Gage Geist was fifth.

Sebastian Palmese overcame a 60-yard handicap to win the Mini 150 Main Event. Luke Whitcomb finished second, Dakota Shockley was third, and Keelan Venegas finished fourth.

Travis Horn defeated Jason Palmese Jr. to win the Pee Wee First Division Main Event.

Cole Ayers was victorious in the Pee Wee Second Division Main Event. Cameron Titterness was second, Adam Csanyi finished third, and Brianna Jones was fourth.

National Champions Joe Jones and Johnny Glover won all three of their heats and completed their perfect evening by winning the Sidecar Main Event. Bryan Motis and Josh Bennett were second, Dual Anderson and Robert Dent finished third, and Jeff Medberry and Heather Bennett were fourth.


Sidecar Main Event
1 - Joe Jones/Johnny Glover
2 - Bryan Motis/Josh Bennett
007 - Dual Anderson/David Dent
44 - Jeff Medberry/Heather Bennett

Pee Wee Second Division Main Event
16 - Cole Ayers
281 - Cameron Titterness
99 - Adam Csanyi
116 - Brianna Jones

Pee Wee First Division Main Event
25 - Travis Horn
795 - Jason Palmese Jr.

Mini 150 Main Event
1 - Sebastian Palmese 60
27 - Luke Whitcomb 0
419 - Dakota Shockley 0
43 - Keelan Venegas 0

Junior 250 Main Event
1 - Dillon Ruml
104 - Kurtis Hamill
4 - Courtney Crone (fell, remounted)
214 - Michael Wells (fell, remounted)
10 - Gage Geist

Support Last Chance
239 – Chris Wiggins 10
311 – Kevin Fife 10
277 – Thomas Rishton0
91 – Phil Bast 20
188 – Rick Howard 0
215 – Greg Willis0
227 – Wade Whitcomb 0

Support Main Event
222 - Dalton Leedy 40
239 - Chris Wiggins 10
163 - Ron Davis 20
211 - Steve Brown 10
311 - Kevin Fife 10
116 - Chris Jones 30 (fell)

First Division Heat Scoring1 2 3 T
5 – Max Ruml 3 3 2 8
14 – Eddie Castro 3 2 3 8
26 – Tyson Burmeister 3 3 2 8
27 – Austin Novratil F 2 3 5
37 – Joe Donaldson 1 1 0 2
39 – Buck Blair 1 2 3 6
48 – Tyson Talkington 3 3 1 7
66 – Jason Ramirez 1 2 1 4
86 – Neil Facchini 2 F N2
100 – Broc Nicol 0 3 3 6
114 – Troy McConnell 2 0 1 3
126 – Rocco Scopellite 2 0 1 3
145 – Davey Shaw F 1 0 1
222 – Dalton Leedy (R) 0 --0
245 – Mike Fuson 0 0 2 2
293 – Rick Valdez 1 1 0 2
321 – Russell Green 2 1 2 5

Race Results
1: Burmeister, Green, Valdez, Nicol (fell, remounted)
2: (restarted) Castro, McConnell, Blair (penalty line), Fuson
3: Talkington, Scopellite, Donaldson, Novratil (fell)
4: Ruml, Facchini, Ramirez (fell, remounted), Shaw (fell)
11: Talkington, Ramirez, Valdez, McConnell
12: Nicol, Blair, Donaldson, Facchini (fell)
13: Burmeister, Castro, Shaw, Scopellite
14: Ruml, Novratil, Green, Fuson
21: Castro, Green, Ramirez, Donaldson
22: Nicol, Fuson, Talkington, Shaw
23: Novratil, Burmeister, McConnell, Leedy
24: Blair, Ruml, Scopellite, Valdez
Semi #1: Novratil, Castro, Nicol, Burmeister
Semi #2: Ruml, Blair, Talkington, Green

First Division Last Chance
26 - Tyson Burmeister
48 - Tyson Talkington
321 - Russell Green
100 - Broc Nicol (tape exclusion)

Scratch Main Event (restarted)
5 - Max Ruml
39 - Buck Blair
14 - Eddie Castro
26 - Tyson Burmeister (non starter - restart)
27 - Austin Novratil (fell, excluded)

Ryan Evans

www.speedwaybikes.com - All rights reserved.