American Speedway  

2012 Costa Mesa Speedway
Race Results

All Speedway Race Results

2012 California Results

US Speedway History

Costa Mesa Speedway
Orange County Fairgrounds
Costa Mesa, California

2012 Season Opener
May 12, 2012
By: Ryan Evans
Photos by: Dorcey Wingo

YouTube Video of all Main Events May 12 - Mark Williams pacificcoastdigital2003@yahoo.com - Xtreme Speedway Action

Quick Results from Costa Mesa. Full Report is coming soon.

2012 Costa Mesa Speedway 2012 Costa Mesa Speedway 2012 Costa Mesa Speedway
A gorgeous day for racing as the OC Fair's Ferris Wheel stands partially assembled.
Our Hostess with the Mostess, Jaleen Oxley relocates for the big show. Taking off from nearby John Wayne Airport, a gorgeous B-17 and a Lancaster Bomber sold some expensive but memorable rides.
2012 Costa Mesa Speedway 2012 Costa Mesa Speedway 2012 Costa Mesa Speedway
Buck Blair makes his way around the arena during the Riders' Parade.
Five days removed from winning in Slovenia, former World Champ Billy Hamill high-fives his appreciate fans. Costa Mesa's Announcer Terry "Ike" Clanton keeps the crowd alive between races.
2012 Costa Mesa Speedway 2012 Costa Mesa Speedway 2012 Costa Mesa Speedway
#7 Michael Raines had an interesting evening, winning the Last Chance race to ride in the First Division Main Event.
Billy Hamill gets a congratulatory five-five from #25 Jimmy Fishback III during his victory cool-down lap. #104 Billy "The Bullet" Hamill gets a fine round of applause while waving the checkered flag for the fans.

It took three attempts, but when the dust cleared former World Champion Billy "The Bullet" Hamill went home victorious from the 44th Season Opener at the world famous Costa Mesa Speedway.

Charlie "The Edge" Venegas entered the main event perfect and started in gate one. Billy Hamill, starting in gate two, beat him to turn one but Michael Raines appeared to beat both riders to the corner from gate five but spun and went down. The red flag came out and Raines was penalized for the restart.

Venegas held a slight advantage on the second attempt but contact entering turn one caused Hamill to spin around. Just as Billy Hamill's bike began to lift out from under him Raines was entering turn one. He began to lay his bike down but not before Billy Hamill lost his grip and the bike hit Raines as he came to a stop. Raines was down for a couple minutes, but rose to his feet to the relief of everyone and the fans gave him a warm applause in appreciation of his toughness.

Billy Hamill made the best start on the third attempt and was able to get across Venegas and Jimmy "Little Animal" Fishback entering turn one. Venegas hounded Billy Hamill the entire distance and tried to force a mistake, but the leader was equal to every challenge. Billy Hamill led the entire distance for the victory, Venegas finished second, Fishback was third, Shawn "Mad Dog" McConnell finished fourth, and Raines was fifth.

Tyson Burmeister kicked off the heats with a win over Tyson Talkington. Fishback defeated Aaron Fox in heat two. Steve Russell led the third heat until McConnell passed him for the lead and win on lap two. Raines beat Bobby "Boogaloo" Schwartz in heat four. Venegas ended the first round with an impressive victory over Billy Hamill.

Raines began the second round with a win over Brad Sauer. Billy Hamill defeated Fishback for his first win of the night. Gino Manzares made a great outside pass around McConnell to win event eight. Talkington led the next race for three laps before a mistake allowed Fox to slip past for the win. Venegas beat Buck Blair to finish round two.

Blair started round three by beating "Flyin" Mike Faria. Talkington was victimized on the final lap again as Fishback took the win away from him in event 18. Billy Hamill made it two straight wins by defeating McConnell. Brad Sauer led event 20 until Burmeister went by for the lead and win. Venegas closed out the heats with a win over Manzares.

Billy Hamill seemingly had the first semi under control, but Fishback pushed his way into the lead at the end of lap two and held him off for a stunning win. Venegas cruised to victory in the second semi with McConnell following him into the main event. Raines won the Last Chance to complete the main event field.

Harold Hartke led the Support Main Event for two laps but was pressured by Eloy Medellin on lap three. Medellin took over the lead entering turn one the final time, but a crash behind him brought out the red flag. The race declared complete and the finishing order reverted back to when the previous lap was completed. That resulted in Hartke being declared the winner and a hard-to-swallow second for Medellin. Joe Donaldson finished third, "Rattlesnake" Steve Bowen was fourth, and Geoff Herkner was credited with fifth.

Bruce Marteney led from start to finish and claimed victory in the Support B Main Event. Craig Sprecher finished second, Danny Baker was third, Phill Santolucito finished fourth, and Kip McClain was fifth.

Max Ruml won both his heats and completed his perfect evening with a win in the Youth 250cc Main Event. Dillon Ruml was second, Hayley Perrault finished third, and Kurtis Hamill was fourth.

Braydan Galvin led all four laps en route to victory in the Youth 200cc Main Event. Maverick Molloy finished second, Michael Wells was third, and Gino Scopellite finished fourth.


Youth 200cc Main Event
45 - Braydan Galvin
34 - Maverick Molloy
214 - Michael Wells
7 - Gino Scopellite

Youth 250cc Main Event
308 - Max Ruml
111 - Dillon Ruml
0 - Hayley Perrault
104 - Kurtis Hamill
98 - Broc Nicol (non starter)

Support B Main Event (restarted)
242 - Bruce Marteney
199 - Craig Sprecher
162 - Danny Baker (penalty line)
200 - Phill Santolucito
316 - Kip McClain

Support Last Chance (restarted)
178 – Eloy Medellin
153 – Brad Moreau
333 – Mike Salyer (fell, remounted)
106 – Robert Fiesler(non starter – restart)

Support Main Event (restarted) (awarded)
290 - Harold Hartke
178 - Eloy Medellin
37 - Joe Donaldson
177 - Steve Bowen
208 - Geoff Herkner

First Division Heat Scoring123T
6 – Shawn McConnell 43310
7 – Michael Raines 44210
9 – Mike Faria 1236
11 – Bobby Schwartz 3238
14 – Eddie Castro 2114
15 – Charles Ermolenko 1113
17 – Robbie Sauer 2226
18 – Justin Boyle 1E12
21 – Brad Sauer 1326
23 – Steve Russell 3126
24 – Gino Manzares 2439
25 – Jimmy Fishback 43411
26 – Tyson Burmeister 42410
39 – Buck Blair 2349
43 – Charlie Venegas 44412
46 – Aaron Fox 3429
48 – Tyson Talkington 3339
104 – Billy Hamill 34411
114 – Troy McConnell 0112
126 – Rocco Scopellite 2215
389 – Ryan Tovatt 1102

Heat Results
1: Burmeister, Talkington, Manzares, Faria, T.McConnell
2: Fishback, Fox, R.Sauer, Ermolenko
3: S.McConnell, Russell, Castro, B.Sauer
4: Raines, Schwartz, Blair, Tovatt
5: Venegas, Hamill, Scopellite, Boyle
6: Raines, B.Sauer, Faria (tape penalty), Ermolenko
7: Hamill, Fishback, Burmeister, T.McConnell
8: (restarted) Manzares, S.McConnell, Scopellite (penalty line), Tovatt
9: Fox, Talkington, Schwartz, Castro
10: Venegas, Blair, R.Sauer, Russell, Boyle (engine failure)
17: Blair, Faria, Fox, Scopellite, Tovatt
18: Fishback, Talkington, Russell, Ermolenko
19: Hamill, S.McConnell, R.Sauer, Boyle (tape penalty)
20: Burmeister, Schwartz, B.Sauer, T.McConnell
21: Venegas, Manzares, Raines, Castro
Semi #1: (restarted) Fishback, Hamill, Burmeister, Manzares, Talkington (penalty line)
Semi #2: Venegas, S.McConnell, Raines, Blair, Fox

First Division Last Chance
7 - Michael Raines
39 - Buck Blair
24 - Gino Manzares
26 - Tyson Burmeister

First Division Main Event (restarted twice)
104 - Billy Hamill
43 - Charlie Venegas
25 - Jimmy Fishback
6 - Shawn McConnell
7 - Michael Raines (penalty line)

www.speedwaybikes.com - All rights reserved.