American Speedway  

2009 Industry Speedway
Race Results

All Speedway Race Results

2009 West Coast Results Page

Industry Speedway
The Grand Industry Hills Expo Center
City of Industry, California

Winter Series
December 5, 2009 - Industry Speedway
By: Ryan Evans

Current National Champion Ricky Wells completed his evening with a perfect night courtesy of what could be described as an early Christmas present on the second event of the Industry Speedway Winter Series.

Wells entered the main event undefeated and chose gate one as his starting position. Former National Champion “Flyin” Mike Faria got the best start from gate two, however, and led the field into turn one. Wells searched for a way past the wily veteran on the back straight but his attempts were denied. Faria increased his lead with each lap and was on his way to victory when he inexplicably went down entering turn one the final time. Wells assumed the lead and the gift-wrapped victory while Gary Hicks, the only other rider to complete the race, finished second. Faria was credited with third, Shawn McConnell was fourth, and Buck Blair was fifth.

Hicks kicked off the heats with a win over Doug Nicol. Nate Perkins, the previous week’s main event winner, defeated McConnell in the second heat. Faria beat Blair in the third heat. Wells ended round one with a win over Bobby Schwartz.

Tyson Burmeister began the round two with a win over Blair. Wells held off Hicks for his second straight win. McConnell beat Jason Ramirez for his first win of the evening. Faria completed the second round by defeating Under 21 National Champion Bryce Starks.

Ramirez started the final round with a victory ahead of Blair. Faria beat Schwartz to remain perfect. McConnell used a great cutback move to make it two wins in a row in the penultimate heat. Wells beat Starks in the final heat to match Faria’s perfect score.

Wells won the first semi with McConnell finishing second to join him in the main event. Blair used a great start to get the lead and the win in the second semi while Faria followed him into the main. Hicks won the Last Chance to take the final spot in the main event.

Rudy Laurer made the best start in the Support Main Event, but Eloy Medellin’s persistence paid off when Laurer went wide near the end of lap two. Medellin hugged the low line and took over the lead. Medellin pulled away from the field and was first to the checkered flag.

Michael Raines finished second, Laurer was third, Tyson Talkington finished fourth, and Justin Hassan was fifth.

Norman Graham led all four laps to capture the Support B Main Event. John Pavia finished second, Kevin Johnson was third, and Mike Boyle finished fourth.

Rocco Scopellite put together four smooth laps to win the Youth First Division Main Event. Samuel Ramirez finished second, Nicky Reimer was third, and Maxwell Ruml was fourth.

Dillon Ruml scored an impressive victory in the Youth Second Division Main Event. Brian Pintar was second, Jacob Wondolowski finished third, Hayley Perrault was fourth, Gino Scopellite finished fifth, and Michael Wells was sixth.

Nick Varner led from start to finish en route to victory in the Pee Wee Main Event. Reimer finished second, Victoria Matthews was third, Pintar finished fourth, and Michael Wells was fifth.

Perrault romped to victory in the Powderpuff Main Event. Matthews was second, Ally McGrath finished third, and Julie Shockley was fourth.

Brian Motis and Brandi McElroy led the Sidecar Main Event for a lap before Gerard Jackson and Dave German took over the lead. Jackson and German never looked back and were first to the finish line. Joe Jones and Jimmy Olsen were second, Motis and McElroy finished third, Scott Driggers and Casey Driggers were fourth, and Shawn Driggers and Missy Driggers finished fifth.

Industry Speedway’s 2009 season comes to a close this Saturday when it hosts the 34th California State Championship. Charlie “The Edge” Venegas has won the title the past two years and is hoping to join Steve Bast and Mike Bast as the only riders to win the prestigious event three consecutive times.


Sidecar Main Event
 66 - Gerard Jackson/Dave German
  1 - Joe Jones/Jimmy Olsen
  2 - Brian Motis/Brandi McElroy
 13 - Scott Driggers/Casey Driggers
 23 - Shawn Driggers/Missy Driggers

Powderpuff Main Event (restarted)
  0 - Hayley Perrault
  6 - Victoria Matthews
186 - Ally McGrath 		(penalty line)
 11 - Julie Shockley

Pee Wee Main Event
  3 - Nick Varner
 41 - Nicky Reimer
  6 - Victoria Matthews
 58 - Brian Pintar
  1 - Michael Wells

Youth Second Division Main Event
111 - Dillon Ruml
 58 - Brian Pintar
251 - Jacob Wondolowski
  0 - Hayley Perrault
 14 - Michael Wells
  7 - Gino Scopellite

Youth First Division Main Event
  9 - Rocco Scopellite
 22 - Samuel Ramirez
 41 - Nicky Reimer 		(retired)
356 - Maxwell Ruml 		(engine failure)

Support B Main Event
129 - Norman Graham
355 - John Pavia
122 - Kevin Johnson
198 - Mike Boyle

Support Main Event
178 - Eloy Medellin
259 - Michael Raines
182 - Rudy Laurer
220 - Tyson Talkington
132 - Justin Hassan 		(fell)

First Division Scoring 		1	2	3	T
  3 - Gary Hicks 		4 	3 	3 	10
  6 - Shawn McConnell 		3 	4 	4 	11
  9 - Mike Faria 		4 	4 	4 	12
 11 - Bobby Schwartz 		3 	2 	3 	8
 13 - Nate Perkins 		4 	1 	2 	7
 14 - Eddie Castro 		0 	1 	1 	2
 22 - Mike Bloom 		1 	2 	2 	5
 39 - Buck Blair 		3 	3 	3 	9
 41 - John Marquez 		2 	2 	2 	6
 66 - Jason Ramirez 		1 	3 	4 	8
 98 - Doug Nicol 		3 	1 	1 	5
141 - Josh Abbott 		1 	2 	1 	4
142 - Ricky Wells 		4 	4 	4 	12
145 - Brad Pappalardo 		2 	1 	2 	5
184 - Tyson Burmeister 		2 	4 	1 	7
244 - Joey Holt 		1 	F 	0 	1
245n - Bryce Starks 		2 	3 	3 	8

Race Results
 1: Hicks, Nicol, Starks, Holt
 2: Perkins, McConnell, Burmeister, Abbott
 3: Faria, Blair, Pappalardo, Ramirez, Castro (tape penalty)
 4: Wells, Schwartz, Marquez, Bloom
11: Burmeister, Blair, Schwartz, Nicol
12: Wells, Hicks, Abbott, Castro, Holt (fell)
13: McConnell, Ramirez, Marquez, Pappalardo
14: Faria, Starks, Bloom, Perkins (fell, remounted)
17: Ramirez, Blair, Perkins, Burmeister, Holt
18: Faria, Schwartz, Marquez, Abbott
19: (awarded) McConnell, Hicks, Bloom, Castro (fell) 
20: Wells, Starks, Pappalardo, Nicol

Semi #1: Wells, McConnell, Burmeister, Ramirez, Schwartz
Semi #2: (restarted) Faria, Hicks, Blair, Starks, Perkins

First Division Last Chance
  3 - Gary Hicks
 66 - Jason Ramirez
184 - Tyson Burmeister
 13 - Nate Perkins 		(fell)

First Division Main Event
142 - Ricky Wells
  3 - Gary Hicks
  9 - Mike Faria 		(fell)
  6 - Shawn McConnell 		(fell)
 39 - Buck Blair 		(fell)
www.speedwaybikes.com - All rights reserved.