American Speedway  

2008 Industry Speedway
Race Results

All Speedway Race Results

2008 West Coast Results Page

Industry Speedway
The Grand Industry Hills Expo Center
City of Industry, California

Last of the Mohicans
August 20, 2008 - Industry Speedway
By: Ryan Evans

Ricky Wells dominated Industry Speedway with a victory in the Last of the Mohicans Last Man Out Challenge and his fourth straight Scratch Main Event victory.

Wells started on the pole in the main event and led the field into turn one. Charlie Venegas, who started in gate five, tried to challenge the 17 year old on the back straight. Wells was not going to be phased by former National Champion’s presence, though, and he pulled away with each lap to win easily. Venegas settled for second, Shawn McConnell finished third, Neil Facchini was fourth, and Bobby Schwartz finished fifth.

Wells started the evening with a runaway victory in the first heat. Tim Gomez led the next heat before sliding off under the pressure from McConnell, who took the win. Venegas completed the first round with a win.

The second round began with Gomez being awarded the victory after Jason Ramirez ran up the back of him and fell in front of Wells and McConnell. Schwartz patiently stalked Jon Stasiefski before passing him at the end of lap two for the lead and the win. Jimmy Fishback started in front and scored an easy win to finish round two.

Ramirez started the final round with a win over McConnell. Despite spotting Venegas 20 yards, Wells chased him down and electrified the crowd by passing the World ICE Champion on the outside at the end of lap three. The Under 21 Champion held him off over the final lap for the win. Brad Sauer was victorious in the final heat. Ramirez and Gomez finished one-two in a runoff to take the final two spots in the semis.

The first semi had to be restarted when Ramirez fell and brought out the red flag. McConnell led the second try but Facchini chased him down the back straight. Facchini got into the back of McConnell in turn three and forced both riders very wide before Facchini fell off the highside. McConnell recovered but Schwartz had taken the lead. The two veteran riders battled side-by-side to the finish with Schwartz getting the win.

Venegas won the second semi with Wells following him into the main by finishing second.

The Last Chance required three attempts to complete. Facchini led the first try but lifted exiting turn two, went down, and sent Gomez into the fence in the process. A complete restart was ordered. The second attempt ended in turn one when Facchini and Brad Sauer came together. Brad Sauer went down leaving Gomez nowhere to go but into Brad Sauer and he hit the dirt hard. Both riders got up to try again. Facchini won the uneventful third try to book the final spot in the main event.

Robbie Sauer, then Facchini were eliminated in the Last of the Mohicans Last Man Out Challenge, leaving Wells and Brad Sauer for the final two-lap challenge. Wells got the best start and cruised to the victory.

Allen Doss exploded from the starting line and cruised to victory in the Second Division Main Event. Rudy Laurer finished second, Phillip Harmatiuk was third, and Dylan Black finished fourth.

Tim McGrath led from start to finish and won the Third Division Main Event for the fourth time in 2008. Ron Mongenel was second, Tony DeAlmeida finished third, and Hugh Randolph was fourth.

Austin Novratil dominated the Youth First Division Main Event for his ninth win of the season. Joey Holt was second and Brad Pappalardo finished third.

Samuel Ramirez led the Youth Second Division Main Event for three laps, but Nicky Reimer challenged him exiting turn two the final time. The two riders bumped, but Ramirez kept the throttle on and held on for his second victory of 2008.

Nick Varner led the Pee Wee Main Event for two laps before falling in turn two and handing the lead over to Reimer. Reimer held off Jacob Wondolowski for the win.

Dave Alexander and Matt Davis got the best start in the Sidecar Main Event, but National Champions Joe Jones and Jimmy Olsen went by on the back straight. Jones and Olsen suffered mechanical problems exiting turn four and handed the lead back to Alexander and Davis. The duo went unchallenged from there and took the win. Tommy Thornton and Steve Bumpus were second and Gerard Jackson and Dave German finished third.


Sidecar Main Event (restarted)
 22 - Dave Alexander/Matt Davis
 31 - Tommy Thornton/Steve Bumpus
 66 - Gerard Jackson/Dave German
  1 - Joe Jones/Jimmy Olsen 			(retired)

Pee Wee Main Event
 41 - Nicky Reimer
251 - Jacob Wondolowski
  3 - Nick Varner 		(fell)

Youth Second Division Main Event
 22 - Samuel Ramirez
 41 - Nicky Reimer

Youth First Division Main Event
  8 - Austin Novratil
  4 - Joey Holt
611 - Brad Pappalardo

Third Division Consolation
126 -Danny Baker
124 - Paul Thornton 
371 - Gary Greenwood
143 - Chris Wolfs 		(non starter)

Third Division Main Event
186 - Tim McGrath
158 - Ron Mongenel
157 - Tony DeAlmeida
308 - Hugh Randolph

Second Division Consolation
 77 - Bryan Buffington
136 - Kim Stevens
153 - Brad Moreau
234 - Frank Pecce

Second Division Main Event
232 - Allen Doss
182 - Rudy Laurer
149 - Phillip Harmatiuk
201 - Dylan Black

Last of the Mohicans Last Man Out Challenge
142 - Ricky Wells
 21 - Brad Sauer
 86 - Neil Facchini
 17 - Robbie Sauer

First Division Scoring 	1 	2 	3 	T
  6 - Shawn McConnell 		3 	1 	2 	6
 11 - Bobby Schwartz 		2 	3 	0 	5
 17 - Robbie Sauer 		2 	1 	1 	4
 21 - Brad Sauer 		2 	R 	3 	5
 25 - Jimmy Fishback 		N 	3 	0 	3
 30 - Tim Gomez 		0 	3 	1 	4
 43 - Charlie Venegas 		3 	0 	2 	5
 52 - Marvin Sonnier 		1 	1 	1 	3
 66 - Jason Ramirez 		1 	F 	3 	4
 86 - Neil Facchini 		1 	2 	2 	5
110 - Jon Stasiefski 		0 	2 	0 	2
142 - Ricky Wells 		3 	2 	3 	8

Race Results
 8: Wells, R.Sauer, Sonnier, Fishback (non starter)
 9: McConnell, B.Sauer, Facchini, Gomez (fell, remounted)
10: Venegas, Schwartz, Ramirez, Stasiefski (fell, remounted)
18: (awarded) Gomez[0], Wells [30], McConnell[30], Ramirez [10] (fell)
19: Schwartz [20], Stasiefski [0], Sonnier[10], B.Sauer [20] (retired)
20: Fishback [0], Facchini [10], R.Sauer[20], Venegas [30]
25: Ramirez [0], McConnell [10], R.Sauer [10], Schwartz [30]
26: Wells [20], Venegas [0], Sonnier [10], Stasiefski [20]
27: B.Sauer [0], Facchini [20], Gomez [30], Fishback [30]
Runoff: Ramirez, Gomez, R.Sauer (restarted) 
Semi #1: (restarted) Schwartz, McConnell, Ramirez (penalty line), Facchini (fell) 
Semi #2: Venegas, Wells, Gomez, B.Sauer

Last Chance (restarted twice)
 86 - Neil Facchini
 66 - Jason Ramirez
 30 - Tim Gomez
 21 - Brad Sauer 	(tape exclusion)

Scratch Main Event
142 - Ricky Wells
 43 - Charlie Venegas
  6 - Shawn McConnell
 86 - Neil Facchini
 11 - Bobby Schwartz
www.speedwaybikes.com - All rights reserved.