American Speedway  

1998 Champion Speedway
Race Results

All Speedway Race Results

1998 Race Results

US Speedway History

New Champion Speedway
344 East River Drive
Owego, New York 13827

Legends of Speedway
July 25, 1998 Champion Speedway
From: Kim Gregory and Larry McBride

Warren Diem Wins the Main! Frank Watson Wins the Legends of Speedway Event!

The track keep getting better, the riders - faster and the crowd - LOUDER!!!

Frank Watson, a world class rider from the past, shot out of the gate in his main event like nothing I have seen before! No wheelspin, no control-loosing-wheelie. The gate when up, and he SHOT to turn one! He has learned from the best ( including Barry Briggs ) and is considering starting a Speedway School at Owego, to tune some of the talented riders up to world champion contenders. Hopefully we will hear more details of this soon.

Missing from the night's program was Chris Hesmer, Len Dillon, and the Muszynski brothers from Canada due to the Canadian National Championship held in Niagara Raceway - Welland Ontario on the same night. Also missing were Dale Wakefield and Bruce Nelson.

Division One Final Results:
Warren Diem #4
Lenny McBride #71 (NY)
Tom Sephton
Gene Bonsignore
George Lazor #51 (NY)

Legends of Speedway Main
1st # 20 Frank Watson
2nd #122 Mike Buman
3rd #101 Dan Fallon
4th # 71 Bob Robinson
5th #77 Dennis Pierce

Dash for Cash
1st 'Mean' Joe Greene

Support A Final Results:
1st Kim Gregory
2nd 'Mean' Joe Greene
3rd Kendall Brookes
4th Jerry Harman Jr.

Support B Final Results:
1st # 18 Mike Robinson - New Zealand
2nd Jay Stalma
3rd Carl Humphrey
4th Craig Baker

Riders also competing in Division One included: Howie Oakden, Dave Oakden, Cam Rafferty, Joe Veninsky, Tim Mathewson, Jeremiah Smith, Mike Cortese, Kelvin Herrala, Alex Wojturski, and Gary Hesmer. Gary is finally getting fast at this track, and had a very fast heat behind George Lazor, but did not make it into the final. He will be the Captain of the Canadian Team in the USA VS Canada night in two weeks. See you all there!

Diem notches another win at New Champion Speedway
By Larry McBride
OWEGO, NY. JULY 25, 1998

Warren Diem, for the second event in a row, won the scratch main event at New Champion Speedway in Owego, NY. As in the last event Diem was again looking for a perfect night of racing, and had a good start after totally dominating the first heat race by nearly a quarter of the track. His second heat, however, brought together his closest competitor of the season with Tony B Tires/Anton's Pizziera sponsored Lenny McBride setting next to him in slot three while Southern Tie Insulation/Skylark Diner/MRT Racing sponsored Diem gated from four. McBride jumped to half bike lead as the gate went skyward, but down the back straight Diem lead by half a wheel on the outside. Both McBride and Diem drove hard in and out of turns three and four with no clear leader visible. What pursued for the next three laps was the same as the first with McBride taking the victory by the slightest margin. Diem said he doesn't mind racing that close when it's against someone like McBride because he knows that although it's very close and fast that it will also be very safe racing.

Finishing first in his remaining two heats and semi, Diem was headed for the final event along with Tom Sephton, Gene Bonsignore, George Lazor, and McBride. Out of gate one Diem got to turn one first and for the first lap was closely trailed by McBride and Sephton. Diem increased his lead to several bike lengths at the finish line to grab the checkered flag and his second scratch main victory of the season.

'A' class rider Kim Gregory swapped the lead several times with Kendall Brookes before emerging the victor for his first win this year. The Support 'B' class, saw a first year rider capture his first main event win. Mickey Robinson making his first appearance the speedway topped the Support B class.

Billed as Legions of Speedway Night, many riders from years gone by were on hand to reminisce about their glory days. In addition eight former riders decided to give it a try one more time.

The old timers heat race saw the track announcer Danny Fallon hand over his microphone to grab a pair of handle bars, and a Jawa that took him to wins in the heat and the semi event. Lining up for the old timers main event was Frank Watson, Mike Buman, Fallon and Bobby Robinson, with all looking like they could easily be regulars on any program. Watson appeared to have never been off a bike as he got the early lead and held it to the checkered.

Again Race Tools of Rochester sponsored the Dash for Cash and Joe Greene was victorious in taking the $125.00 prize.

Race Results MAIN: 1 Warren Diem (God); 2. Lenny McBride (God); 3. Tom Sephton (God); 4. Gene Bonsignore (God); 5. George Lazor (Jawa).
SUPPORT A: 1. Kim Gregory (Jawa); 2. Joe Greene (WL); 3. Kendall Brookes (Jawa); 4. Jerry Harman (Jawa).
SUPPORT B: 1 Mikey Robinson (Jawa); 2. Jay Stalma (Jawa); 3. Carl Humphreys (Jawa); 4. Craig Baker (Jawa).

Larry McBride
411 Bevier St.
Binghamton, NY. 13904-2628

www.speedwaybikes.com - All rights reserved.