American Speedway  

2012 IMS Speedway
Race Results

All Speedway Race Results

2012 California Results

US Speedway History

Inland Motor Speedway
National Orange Show
San Bernardino, California

IMS Winter Series 3 Results
January 29, 2012
By: Ryan Evans
Photos By: Dorcey Wingo

2012 IMS Speedway 2012 IMS Speedway 2012 IMS Speedway
Youth Event 6: The 50s and the 200s go head to head in their opener. Learning how to pass safely is what it's all about. Support Event 3: #182 Rudy Lauer leads around two as #185 Kayle LeoGrande, #313 Joey St. Louis and #311 Rip Fife give chase. First Division: #45 Brad Pappalardo leads #48 Tyson Talkington, #27 Austin Novratil (left) and #114 Troy McConnell into turn one.
2012 IMS Speedway 2012 IMS Speedway 2012 IMS Speedway
First Division Event 9: Novratil's on the outside, followed by Tim Gomez. Talkington's on the pole as #28 Joey Holt pursues. You don't want to give Austin "Full Throttle" Novratil an opening, or this will happen. He's gone. Youth rider #4X Stanley Hunter rode most of this race with a flat rear tire - but he was passing people!
2012 IMS Speedway 2012 IMS Speedway 2012 IMS Speedway
Sidecar Exhibition: #1 Joe Jones puts a new swinger [Glover] through the paces; Jimmy Olsen has retired! Sidecar Exhibition: #16 Brown also breaks in a new swinger [Hertrick]. Thank you, #182 Rudy Lauer, for not running over poor ol' Captain Methane.
2012 IMS Speedway 2012 IMS Speedway 2012 IMS Speedway
Pee Wee Main Event: #45 Charlie Larsen takes turn one in first. #66 Ryan Billingsley is in the red outfit, #4 Ryan Tovatt chases Charlie and #76 Nick Dunn is on the outside. Support Main Event: #131 St. Louis has the lead over #182 Lauer. In three, #389 Ryan Tovatt copes with #116 Chris Jones, partially obscuring #37 Joe Donaldson. First Division Main Event: #30 Tim Gomez out-gates his companions Talkington, #45 Pappalardo and #114 Troy McConnell. [Novratil, not in view -  came from the penalty line.]

Tim Gomez made the best of his first event of 2012 by winning the main event of the IMS Winter Series Event #3 at Inland Motorcycle Speedway in San Bernardino.

Gomez entered the main event as the top point scorer from the heats and he picked gate one. He led the first start, but entering turn three, Austin Novratil, the only rider to win two heats, went down and collected Joey "The Bolt" Holt. Holt was unable to restart and Novratil was banished to the penalty line. Gomez made his gate selection pay off with another great start. Tyson Talkington, who won the previous Winter Series event, tried all four laps to force the leader into a mistake, but no such chances would occur. Gomez was first to the checkered flag, Talkington had to settle for second, Troy McConnell was third, Novratil finished fourth, Brad Pappalardo was fifth, and Holt was credited with sixth.

Seventeen year old Joey St. Louis got the best start in the Support Main Event, but found himself immediately under pressure from veteran racer Rudy Laurer. St. Louis led through the first lap, but Laurer wasn't giving up easily. Laurer kept the heat on his younger competitor the next two laps but couldn't find a way past. St. Louis still led entering the final corner, but made a mistake exiting turn four and Laurer charged by to defeat him by inches at the finish line. Joe Donaldson was third, Ryan Tovatt finished fourth, and Chris Jones was fifth.

Max Ruml led all four laps en route to victory in the Youth 250cc Main Event. Dillon Ruml finished second, Broc Nicol was third, and Hayley Perrault finished fourth.

Hunter Stanley and Colt Stanley took their first rides on a speedway bike during the Billy Hamill/Hagon Shocks Speedway Academy the previous day, but they looked like season veterans during the heats as well as in the Youth 200cc Main Event. Hunter Stanley beat his brother off the starting line, but Colt Stanley took over the lead on the back straight. Their four competitors chased after them, but the Stanley brothers made sure that it would be one of them taking home the trophy. Colt Stanley held off Hunter Stanley to get the victory. Dalton Leedy finished third, Braydan Galvin was fourth, Chase Sanborn finished fifth, and Courtney Crone was sixth.

Charlie Larsen beat another second-generation racer, Ryan Tovatt, to win the Pee Wee Main Event. Ryan Billingsley finished third and Nick Dunn was fourth.


Pee Wee Main Event
45 - Charlie Larsen
4 - Ryder Tovatt
6 - Ryan Billingsley
76 - Nick Dunn

Youth 200cc Main Event
5 - Colt Stanley 0
4x - Hunter Stanley 0
222 - Dalton Leedy 30
45 - Braydan Galvin 40
108 - Chase Sanborn 10
4 - Courtney Crone 0

Youth 250cc Main Event
308 - Max Ruml
111 - Dillon Ruml
98 - Broc Nicol
0 - Hayley Perrault

Support Main Event
182 - Rudy Laurer
313 - Joey St. Louis
37 - Joe Donaldson
389 - Ryan Tovatt
116 - Chris Jones

First Division Main Event (restarted)
30 - Tim Gomez
48 - Tyson Talkington
114 - Troy McConnell
27 - Austin Novratil (penalty line)
28 - Joey Holt (non starter - restart)

www.speedwaybikes.com - All rights reserved.