American Speedway  

2011 IMS Speedway
Race Results

All Speedway Race Results

2011 California Results Page

US Speedway History

Inland Motor Speedway
National Orange Show
San Bernardino, California

Harley Night at IMS
June 10, 2011
By: Ryan Evans
Photos by: Dorcey Wingo

IMS (Inland Motor Speedway) IMS (Inland Motor Speedway) IMS (Inland Motor Speedway)
It was Quaid Harley Night at the Inland Motorcycle Speedway Friday evening. Great sounding V-twins, hot chrome and classic ladies were on hand for the fun. McConnell. Sure, he looks harmless enough. But put a helmet on his head and a steel shoe on his left foot?
He's a methanol addicted, Speedway trophy magnet!
Where would we be without our Friday night Riders' Meeting at IMS?
IMS (Inland Motor Speedway) IMS (Inland Motor Speedway) IMS (Inland Motor Speedway)
In Event 3, Handicap racing: Pappalardo crosses the finish line just ahead of a charging, snarling Jimmy Fishback. The Pee Wee Main Event: Gating next to the wall is #000 Mickey Ortega (with the outriggers), as #34 Dakota Shockley drives from the sandwich, leaving #14 Sara Cords a little out of the saddle as her machine leaves the gate. Sara recovered quickly and went on to win. Jimmy Fishback III races a borrowed Harley just outside of the fastest guy I've ever seen on a full dress Harley-Davidson dirt racer. Lordy!
IMS (Inland Motor Speedway) IMS (Inland Motor Speedway) IMS (Inland Motor Speedway)
#45 Brad Pappalardo grinds away a few grams of steel shoe on the rough DG surface going into turn one.
Uncle Greg would be proud of you, Brad!
200cc 2nd Div. Main Event: #34 Maverick Molloy drives from the pole position as #222 Dalton Leedy slips the clutch. [Not pictured is #18 Sebastian Palmese.] Finishing order #34-1st  #18 Palmese-2nd and #222 Leedy-3rd. 200cc 1st. Div. Main Event: #111 Dillon Ruml gates along the wall as #98 Broc Nicol flies from the sandwich and #333 Nicholas Varner drives out of the trenches.
IMS (Inland Motor Speedway) IMS (Inland Motor Speedway) IMS (Inland Motor Speedway)
250cc Main Event: #111 Dillon Ruml is matched against his brother #308 Max Ruml in lane two as #333 "Notorious" Nicholas Varner unleashes the hounds. "Mad Max" would go flying later in turn 1.5 and finish third behind his brother, Dillon, who took 2nd. Way to hang in there, Nick! Handicap Main Event: Remember the harmless looking guy on the cruiser bike? #6 Shawn "Mad Dog" McConnell takes away #23 Steve Russell's lunch money at the finish line. Scratch Main: It's #9 "Flying Mike" Faria against the wall; #25 Jimmy "Li'l Animal" Fishback III in lane 4; #46 Aaron "The" Fox in three; #6 Shawn "Mad Dog" McConnell in two, and gating from lane one is #23 Steve "Smooth as Silk" Russell. Fishback would go on to win, McConnell second and Russell third.

Jimmy "Little Animal" Fishback and Shawn "Mad Dog" McConnell collected the First Division main event wins for the second consecutive weeks but reversed last week's results on Quaid Harley Night at Inland Motorcycle Speedway in San Bernardino.

McConnell and Fishback entered turn one of the Scratch Main together. McConnell stuck to the low line through the first corner while Fishback used the cushion to find traction. Fishback found enough grip to propel himself past McConnell on the back straight and then dropped down in front of him as they entered turn three. McConnell chased Fishback the entire distance but couldn't force a mistake. Steve Russell finished third, "Flyin" Mike Faria was fourth, and Aaron Fox finished fifth.

The first attempt to complete the eight-rider, eight-lap Handicap Main Event ended with a thud on the front straight as a tape malfunction led to confusion and resulted in Fishback and Neil Facchini crashing hard. Both riders were down for several minutes. Facchini was helped off the track with a leg injury and wouldn't participate in the restart. Fishback, elected to restart, but given his reputation for toughness, this came as little surprise to speedway aficionados.

Former Youth National Champion Brad Pappalardo led the restart into turn one and had Aaron Fox and Steve Russell both snapping at his heels. Russell became the sole immediate challenger and patiently stalked Pappalardo. Russell's opportunity presented itself on lap five when Pappalardo went wide and he pounced and took over the lead. McConnell was into second by the end of the lap and set his sights on the leader. He steadily gained ground and was within striking distance on the final lap. Russell went wide in the final corner and McConnell charged up the inside and snatched the victory by inches at the finish line. Fishback finished third, Fox was fourth, Josh Abbott finished fifth, and Pappalardo was sixth.

Mike Wiley led all four laps en route to a solid victory in the Second Division Main Event. Geoff Herkner finished second, Brandon Leedy was third, and Rohn Zellner finished fourth.

Mitch Pierson won his heat, his semi, and captured the Third Division Main Event for the second week in a row. Kip McClain was second, Kevin Fife finished third, and Tony DeAlmeida was fourth.

Max Ruml made the best start in the Youth 250cc Main Event, but went down in the first turn. Nicholas Varner took over the lead and never looked back on his way to victory. Dillon Ruml finished second and Max Ruml was credited with third.

Varner didn't limit himself to success in only one main event. He led the Youth 200cc First Division Main Event from start to finish and won that division as well. Dillon Ruml finished second and Broc Nicol was third.

Sebastian Palmese led the Youth 200cc Second Division Main Event for a lap before Maverick Molloy took over the lead. Molloy was error-free the rest of the way and was first to the checkered flag. Palmese finished second and Dalton Leedy was third.

Sara Cords defeated Dakota Shockley and Mikey Ortega to win the Pee Wee Main Event.

The next event at IMS is the Ken Maely Shoe Championship. The event honors the legendary man who not only made the metal skidshoes worn by hundreds of speedway and flat track racers, but also provided a practice track and was dedicated to the sport of speedway. Many American superstars honed their skills on the track at Maely's Ranch in Corona, California. The AMA Hall of Fame member passed away in 2003.


Pee Wee Main Event
14 - Sara Cords
34 - Dakota Shockley
000 - Mikey Ortega

Youth 200cc Second Division Main Event
34 - Maverick Molloy
18 - Sebastian Palmese
222 - Dalton Leedy

Youth 200cc First Division Main Event
333 - Nicholas Varner
111 - Dillon Ruml
98 - Broc Nicol

Youth 250cc Main Event
333 - Nicholas Varner
111 - Dillon Ruml
308 - Max Ruml (fell)

Third Division Consolation
313 – Joey St. Louis
211 – Steve Brown
275 – Mike Betor
226 – Rick Huspek

Third Division Main Event
192 - Mitch Pierson
316 - Kip McClain
311 - Kevin Fife
157 - Tony DeAlmeida

Second Division Consolation
175 – Jake Myers
65e – Jeff Garlinghouse
333 – Mike Salyer

Second Division Main Event
101 - Mike Wiley
208 - Geoff Herkner
151 - Brandon Leedy
163 - Rohn Zellner

Handicap Main Event (restarted)
6 - Shawn McConnell 40
23 - Steve Russell 20
25 - Jimmy Fishback 50
46 - Aaron Fox 20
141 - Josh Abbott 20
45 - Brad Pappalardo 10
41 - John Marquez 20
86 - Neil Facchini 30(non starter - restart)

First Division Last Chance
46 - Aaron Fox
86 - Neil Facchini
41 - John Marquez
15 - Dukie Ermolenko (non starter)

Scratch Main Event
25 - Jimmy Fishback
6 - Shawn McConnell
23 - Steve Russell
9 - Mike Faria
46 - Aaron Fox

www.speedwaybikes.com - All rights reserved.