American Speedway  

2010 IMS Speedway
Race Results

All Speedway Race Results

2010 California Results

US Speedway History

Inland Motorcycle Speedway
National Orange Show
San Bernardino, California

Quaid Harley Davidson Night
August 13, 2010 - Inland Motorcycle Speedway
By: Ryan Evans

Shawn “Mad Dog” McConnell collected all the hardware on off by winning both main events on Quaid Harley Davidson Night at Inland Motorcycle Speedway in San Bernardino.

The Scratch Main Event lost one of his competitors when “Fast” Eddie Castro jumped into the tapes. When the tapes finally went up McConnell jumped into the front with Tyson Burmeister and former National Champion “Flyin” Mike Faria engaged in an inside-outside battle for second. McConnell maintained his lead but couldn’t separate himself from the two combatants behind him. Burmeister secured second as they took the white flag and went after the leader. Burmeister got within striking distance but McConnell was unfazed and held on to the victory. Burmeister settled for second, Faria was third, Neil Facchini finished fourth, and Castro was credited with fifth.

Former Youth National Champion Brad Pappalardo got the jump on fellow 10 yard rider Joey “The Bolt” Holt and led the eight-rider Handicap Main Event into turn one. Pappalardo held a narrow lead over Holt while Jimmy “Little Animal” Fishback was carving his way through the field. Pappalardo found a little too much traction near the end of lap four, lifted, got off the inside line, and allowed Holt to take over the lead. Fishback went past Pappalardo as well and seemed destined to the front with only Holt in his way. However, as he entered turn one the sixth time Fishback’s steel shoe came off and he slid off. This allowed McConnell to take over second with two and a half laps to catch Holt. McConnell dramatically closed on the leader and was planted on this back tire entering the final lap. The teenager succumbed to the veteran’s immense pressure in the final corner when he fell. McConnell was first to the checkered flag, Facchini finished second, Josh Abbott was third, Faria finished fourth, and Pappalardo was fifth.

Mike Fuson won two of his three heats and ran away with the victory in the Support Main Event. Brandon Leedy fought through traffic to finish second, Jake Myers was third, Chris Jones finished fourth, John Pavia was fifth, and C.J. Sanborn was credited with sixth.

The next event at IMS is the Denny Pyeatt Memorial which honors the American rider who was tragically killed at Hackney in 1982. Faria won the event last year.

Inland Motorcycle Speedway
Photo By Dorcey Wingo


Pee Wee Main Event 
 11 - David Ballard 
 27 - Luke Whitcomb 

Youth Main Event 
333 - Nick Varner

Support Consolation (restarted)
101 – Mike Wiley		20
122 – Kevin Johnson		0
316 – Kip McClain		0
333 – Mike Salyer		0
211 – Steve Brown		0
274 – Bubba Vazzana		10
178 – Eloy Medellin		20	(non starter)

Support Main Event 
245 - Mike Fuson 		0 
151 - Brandon Leedy 		20 
175 - Jake Myers 		10 
116 - Chris Jones 		10 
355 - John Pavia 		10	(fell) 
393 - C.J. Sanborn 		0	(excluded) 

Last of the Mohicans Last Man Out Challenge 
 25 - Jimmy Fishback 
 14 - Eddie Castro 
 26 - Tyson Burmeister 
149 - Philip Harmatiuk 

Handicap Main Event 
  6 - Shawn McConnell		40 
 86 - Neil Facchini 		30 
141 - Josh Abbott 		20 
  9 - Mike Faria 		40 
145 - Brad Pappalardo 		10 
244 - Joey Holt 		10	(fell) 
 25 - Jimmy Fishback 		40	(fell) 
 39 - Buck Blair 		40	(non starter) 

First Division Last Chance 
 86 - Neil Facchini 
 25 - Jimmy Fishback 
 39 - Buck Blair 		(fell) 
 11 - Bobby Schwartz 		(retired) 

Scratch Main Event 
  6 - Shawn McConnell 
 26 - Tyson Burmeister 
  9 - Mike Faria 
 86 - Neil Facchini 
 14 - Eddie Castro 		(tape exclusion)
www.speedwaybikes.com - All rights reserved.