American Speedway  

2011 Costa Mesa Speedway
Race Results

All Speedway Race Results

2011 California Results Page

US Speedway History

YouTube Main Event
Mark Williams

Costa Mesa Speedway
Orange County Fairgrounds
Costa Mesa, California

2011 Fall Classic
October 8, 2011
By: Ryan Evans

Former National Champion Charlie "The Edge" Venegas completed his perfect night by winning the main event of the Fall Classic at the world famous Costa Mesa Speedway.

Billy "The Kid" Janniro, who won his second straight national championship the previous week, had second gate choice and began working over gate two assuming that Venegas, who had first choice, would select gate one. Venegas shocked everyone, including Janniro, by picking gate two. Janniro admitted that he had picked gate two in his semi on the assumption that Venegas would have first choice in the main. He also stated that Venegas was "already in my head" after the surprise selection and was admittedly disappointed because he believed gate two was the better starting position.

Venegas made his decision pay off by rocketing into the lead when the tapes went up. Janniro went to the outside to seek enough traction to challenge for the lead, but lost a position to "Flyin" Mike Faria instead. Venegas never turned a wheel wrong and was first to the checkered flag. Faria finished second, Janniro was third, Shawn "Mad Dog" McConnell finished fourth, and Tyson Burmeister was fifth.
Tyson Talkington kicked off the heats with a win over Charles "Dukie" Ermolenko. Faria started his evening with a defeat of Shawn McConnell in the second heat. Venegas beat Steve Russell in the third heat. Burmeister ended round one with an impressive win over Janniro.

Burmeister began round two with a win over Bobby "Boogaloo" Schwartz. "Battling" Buck Blair beat Faria in event 10. Venegas defeated Shawn McConnell for his second straight win. Janniro finished the second round by beating Talkington.

Schwartz used the outside to pass Aaron Fox and win the first heat of the final round. Faria beat Burmeister for his second win in event 16. Venegas defeated Ermolenko for his third consecutive win in the next race. Janniro closed out the heats by beating Shawn McConnell.
Janniro scored an easy victory in the first semi with Faria finishing second to join him in the main. Venegas won the second semi and Shawn McConnell grabbed the other transfer by finishing second. Burmeister won the Last Chance to fill the final spot in the main.
Troy "Mad Puppy" McConnell made the best start in the Support Main Event and was never seriously challenged on his way to victory. Rick "The Rage" Valdez finished second, Eloy Medellin was third, and Geoff Herkner finished fourth.

Kevin Fife led from start to finish en route to victory in the Support B Main Event. Bruce Marteney was second, John Williams finished third, and Kip McClain was fourth.

Max Ruml, who started 20 yards behind his competitors, made his way through the pack to take the lead on the final lap and won the Youth 250cc Main Event. Hayley Perrault finished second, Dillon Ruml was third, and Braden Sauer was credited with fourth.
Braden Galvin led the first lap of the Youth 200cc First Division Main Event before Broc Nicol took over the lead. Nicol never looked back and went on to victory. Galvin finished second and Dalton Leedy was third.

Michael Wells led all four laps and won the Youth 200cc Second Division Main Event. Maverick Molloy was second, Chase Sanborn finished third, and Daniel Casey was fourth.

National Champions Joe Jones and Jimmy Olsen cruised to the victory in the Sidecar Main Event. Dylan Beard and Crystal Laurie finished second, Shawn Driggers and Missy Driggers were third, and Gerard Jackson and Dave German finished fourth.

The Fall Classic brought the curtain down on Costa Mesa Speedway's 43rd season at the Orange County Fairgrounds.


Sidecar Main Event
1 - Joe Jones/Jimmy Olsen
5150 - Dylan Beard/Crystal Laurie
23 - Shawn Driggers/Missy Driggers
66 - Gerard Jackson/Dave German

Youth 200cc Second Division Main Event
214 - Michael Wells
34 - Maverick Molloy
108 - Chase Sanborn
393n - Daniel Casey
18 - Sebastian Palmese (non starter)

Youth 200cc First Division Main Event
98 - Broc Nicol
45 - Braydan Galvin
222 - Dalton Leedy

Youth 250cc Main Event (restarted)
308 - Max Ruml 20
0 - Hayley Perrault 0(penalty line)
111 - Dillon Ruml 20(fell)
21 - Braden Sauer 0(fell)

Support B Main Event
311 - Kevin Fife
242 - Bruce Marteney
390n - John Williams
316 - Kip McClain (fell)

Support Main Event (restarted)
114 - Troy McConnell
293 - Rick Valdez
178 - Eloy Medellin
208 - Geoff Herkner

First Division Scoring 123T
1 – Billy Janniro 34411
6 – Shawn McConnell 3339
9 – Mike Faria 43411
11 – Bobby Schwartz 1348
15 – Charles Ermolenko 3238
17 – Robbie Sauer 2125
23 – Steve Russell 3216
26 – Tyson Burmeister 44311
28 – Joey Holt 2013
39 – Buck Blair 1427
43 – Charlie Venegas 44412
46 – Aaron Fox 2237
48 – Tyson Talkington 4329
66 – Jason Ramirez 2N 24
105 – Danny Faria 1113
113 – Gabe Price 1214
151 – Brandon Leedy F101
293 – Rick Valdez 00N 0

Heat Results
1: Talkington, Ermolenko, Fox, Schwartz, Valdez
2: M.Faria, McConnell, Ramirez, D.Faria
3: Venegas, Russell, Sauer, Price
4: Burmeister, Janniro, Holt, Blair, Leedy (fell)
9: Burmeister, Schwartz, Russell, Leedy (fell, remounted)
10: Blair, M.Faria, Ermolenko, Sauer, Valdez
11: Venegas, McConnell, Fox, D.Faria, Holt
12: Janniro, Talkington, Price, Ramirez (non starter)
15: Schwartz, Fox, Sauer, Price (fell)
16: M.Faria, Burmeister, Ramirez, Holt, Leedy
17: Venegas, Ermolenko, Talkington, Russell, Valdez (non starter)
18: Janniro, McConnell, Blair, D.Faria (tape penalty)
Semi #1: Janniro, M.Faria, Schwartz, Fox, Talkington (engine failure)
Semi #2: Venegas, McConnell, Ermolenko, Burmeister, Blair

First Division Last Chance
26 - Tyson Burmeister
15 - Charles Ermolenko
11 - Bobby Schwartz
46 - Aaron Fox

First Division Main Event
43 - Charlie Venegas
9 - Mike Faria
1 - Billy Janniro
6 - Shawn McConnell
26 - Tyson Burmeister

www.speedwaybikes.com - All rights reserved.