American Speedway  

2010 Perris Speedway
Race Results

All Speedway Race Results

2010 California Results

US Speedway History

Perris Raceway
Perris, California

California Speedway
October 16, 2010 - Perris Raceway
Top Story by Steve Graham - Results By Ryan Evans

Tonight was a great night for American speedway and I'm not exaggerating. We finally have a long track for our riders to race on and that's a big deal. We lost Long Beach in the early 90's and haven't had a serious long track since then. Two of the riders in tonight's Division 1 main weren't even born the last time SoCal had a long track to race on.

In the interest of full disclosure, I do work for the promoter so I might be a little biased but nevertheless, I have a few observations from tonight.

I totally agree with nearly everything Andy mentioned ...especially the crash wall. Nice and thin and forgiving. Better to burn a few sheets of plywood than to risk even a minor injury to a racer.

The Division 1 guys really went fast tonight. There was some big time speedway. Turn 1 rutted up after a while but some good grooming cleaned up most of the problem. After that, turn 3 had a few issues but, for the most part, the track held and will get nothing but better in the future.

Geoff Herkner came up huge tonight. Nice work.

The best kept secret in SoCal speedway has to be Dominic Manzares. Last I remember he was Pee Wee racing a long time ago and tonight he gave Max Ruml some great competition. He's been practicing somewhere and appears to be a skilled racer just like his brother.

Speaking of Max Ruml, totally stud! Works a speedway bike with incredible control. Max's little brother Dillon had a good night too.

Vince and Freddie have built a beautiful facility that is top flight all the way. Thanks a bunch. They should be really proud of what they've created.

Mike and John, The Mohicans, really make the show. Hats off to them. Your support is an integral part of the success of the show.

I can't say enough about Carrie Hancock so I'll leave it at THANKS! Job well done! Brad too!

The next race at Perris is November 6th. Come out, if you like speedway you'll love Perris.

Long Track Back In SoCal!!! Wooohooo!!!!!!

Results By Ryan Evans

Geoff Herkner and Mike Salyer took home main event victories at the first speedway meeting ever held at Perris Raceway's new oval track.

Rocco Scopellite took the lead in turn one of the Second Division Main Event and led down the back straight. Scopellite went very wide entering turn three and Rudy Laurer and Herkner both went by. Herkner stalked Laurer for a lap before going past him on the inside at the end of lap two. Scopellite tried valiantly to get back to the front but struggled to get past the veteran riders. Herkner was first to the checkered flag, Laurer finished second, Scopellite was third, and Ryan Tovatt was credited with fourth.

Northern California's Chris Casey led the Third Division Main Event through turn one before Salyer charged by him on the back straight. Salyer won all three of his heats and wasn't about to ruin his perfect night. He steadily pulled away with each lap and crossed the finish line first. Casey was second, Tony DeAlmeida finished third, and Chad Erl was credited with fourth.

Herkner didn't limit his success to the standard four-lap races either. He was also victorious in the Second Division Last of the Mohicans Last Man Out Challenge by defeating Laurer in the final challenge.

Casey didn't go home empty-handed as was victorious over Rod Requejo, Gene Stone, and DeAlmeida in the Third Division Last of the Mohicans Last Man Out Challenge.

The initial attempt to run the First Division Main Event only made it to turn one as a crash brought out the red flag. Tim Gomez led the second attempt for nearly two laps before Michael Raines slid off entering turn three and hit the fence and brought out the red flag. Thankfully, only the fence suffered any damage as Raines was able to walk away, but he would not take part in the restart. Gomez again made the best start the third time the tapes went up and held the lead through lap one. Gino Manzares pulled up on lap two which left Austin Novratil to contend with Gomez. The 15 year old couldn't gain ground, though, and Gomez comfortably led to the finish.

The first attempt to complete the Youth First Division Main Event ended abruptly when Nick Varner went down hard in turn one. Varner was able to walk away, but suffered an injury that prevented him from restarting. Max Ruml led all four laps of the restart to claim the victory. Dominic Manzares finished second, Dillon Ruml was third, Hayley Perrault finished fourth, and Varner was credited with fifth.

Maverick Molloy defeated Gino Scopellite to win the Youth Second Division Main Event.

Sebastian Palmese made his way through traffic to win the Pee Wee Main Event. Alyssa Smith finished second, Kylie Ayers was third, Dominic Laney finished fourth, Tristan Britt was fifth, Daniel Casey finished sixth, and Summer Fehrman was seventh.

The event was the first speedway event held at the new facility that has been built adjacent to the former track's location. The length of the track is longer than the previous oval and the entire facility has been upgraded from its predecessor. The next Carrie Hancock Speedway Promotions event at Perris Raceway is scheduled for Saturday, November 6.


Pee Wee Main Event
795 - Sebastian Palmese
31 - Alyssa Smith
99 - Kylie Ayers
19 - Dominic Laney
11 - Tristan Britt
46 - Daniel Casey
8 - Summer Fehrman

Youth Second Division Main Event
34 - Maverick Molloy
7 - Gino Scopellite

Youth First Division Main Event (restarted)
356 - Max Ruml
12 - Dominic Manzares
111 - Dillon Ruml
0 - Hayley Perrault
333 - Nicholas Varner (non starter - restart)

First Division Last Chance
63 - Michael Raines
23 - Steve Russell
66 - Jason Ramirez (retired)
46 - Aaron Fox (two-minute exclusion)

First Division Main Event (restarted twice)
30 - Tim Gomez
181 - Austin Novratil
24 - Gino Manzares (retired)
63 - Michael Raines (non starter - restarted)

Third Division Last Chance
391 - Chris Casey
231 - Gene Stone
390 - John Williams
131 - Rod Requejo (fell)

Third Division Main Event
333 - Mike Salyer
391 - Chris Casey
157 - Tony DeAlmeida
154 - Chad Erl (non starter)

Second Division Last Chance (restarted)
182 - Rudy Laurer
163 - Rohn Zellner
125 - Johnny Lupo
212 - Steve Dziadus

Second Division Main Event
208 - Geoff Herkner
182 - Rudy Laurer
9J - Rocco Scopellite
389 - Ryan Tovatt (non starter)

www.speedwaybikes.com - All rights reserved.