American Speedway  

2010 IMS Speedway
Race Results

All Speedway Race Results

2010 California Results

US Speedway History

Inland Motorcycle Speedway
National Orange Show
San Bernardino, California

2010 Ken Maely Shoe Cup
June 11, 2010 - Inland Motorcycle Speedway
By: Ryan Evans

YouTube Main Event

Tyson Burmeister took home top honors for the second week in a row by winning the Ken Maely Shoe Cup at Inland Motorcycle Speedway in San Bernardino.

The first time the riders came to the starting line “Fast” Eddie Castro and “Battling” Buck Blair both got into the tapes. The referee ruled that Castro went into the tapes first and he was excluded. When the tapes finally went up “Flyin” Mike Faria made the best start with Burmeister right behind him. Faria held off his younger challenger on lap one, but Burmeister kept the pressure on. Faria exited turn two a little wide and Burmeister blasted by on the inside on the back straight. Faria tried to regain the position on the front straight but Burmeister kept him at bay entering turn one. It would prove to be Faria’s last challenge and he found himself under attack from Blair. Burmeister led the rest of the way for the win, Blair passed Faria for second, Jimmy Fishback finished fourth, and Castro was credited with fifth.

Blair opened the heats with a win over John Marquez. Burmeister defeated Neil Facchini in the second heat. Tyson Talkington blistered his first win in First Division in the next heat. Fishback beat Faria to end the first round.

Blair stared the second round by defeating Burmeister. Dale Facchini held off Shawn McConnell to win the next heat. Tim Gomez passed Fishback for the lead and his first victory in event 13. Faria beat Brad Pappalardo to finish round two.

Faria stared round three by beating Blair. Burmeister defeated Fishback for his second win. Castro beat Dale Facchini for his first victory. Gomez made it two in a row to end the third round.

Gomez led the first heat of the third round before lifting on the third lap and allowing Blair to get by for his third win. Steve Russell defeated Pappalardo in event 28. Faria made it three consecutive wins in the penultimate heat. Castro closed out the heats with a win over Fishback.

Talkington scored an impressive victory in a runoff to race in the Last Chance.

Castro and Fishback finished one-two in the Last Chance to complete the main event field.

Rohn Zellner put together four smooth laps to win the Second Division Main Event. Mike Wiley finished second, Bubba Vazzana was third, and John Pavia finished fourth.

Mike Salyer survived a battle of attrition to win the Third Division Main Event. Jake Myers finished second, Kevin Johnson was third, and C.J. Sanborn was fourth.

Jimmy Fishback IV went undefeated including a victory in the Pee Wee Main Event. David Ballard finished second and Chase Sanborn was third.

The Ken Maely Shoe Championship honors the legendary man who not only made the metal skidshoes worn by hundreds of speedway and flat track racers, but also provided a practice track and was dedicated to the sport of speedway. Many American superstars honed their skills on the track at Maely’s Ranch in Corona, California. The AMA Hall of Fame member passed away in 2003.


Pee Wee Main Event
275 - Jimmy Fishback IV
11 - David Ballard
4 - Chase Sanborn 		(fell)

Youth Main Event
333 - Nick Varner

Third Division Consolation
152 – Jim Robinson
211 – Steve Brown
134 – Jim Gardner		(non starter)
116 – Chris Jones		(non starter)

Third Division Main Event
333 - Mike Salyer
175 - Jake Myers 		(fell, remounted)
122 - Kevin Johnson 		(retired)
393 - C.J. Sanborn 		(fell)

Second Division Main Event
163 - Rohn Zellner
101 - Mike Wiley
274 - Bubba Vazzana
355 - John Pavia

First Division Heat Scoring	1	2	3	4	T
  6 – Shawn McConnell		1	2	1	1	5
  9 – Mike Faria		2	3	3	3	11
 14 – Eddie Castro		2	1	3	3	9
 19 – Dale Facchini		1	3	2	0	6
 23 – Steve Russell		0	0	2	3	5
 25 – Jimmy Fishback		3	1	2	2	8
 26 – Tyson Burmeister		3	2	3	2	10
 30 – Tim Gomez			1	3	3	2	9
 39 – Buck Blair		3	3	2	3	11
 41 – John Marquez		2	1	Nr	0	3
 86 – Neil Facchini		2	0	1	1	4
145 – Brad Pappalardo		0	2	1	2	5
149 – Philip Harmatiuk		0	E	0	1	1
220 – Tyson Talkington		3	0	1	1	5
244 – Joey Holt			1	2	0	0	3
259 – Michael Raines		0	1	0	0	1

Race Results
 1: (restarted) Blair, Marquez, Holt, Raines
 2: Burmeister, N. Facchini, Gomez, Pappalardo
 3: Talkington, Castro (tape penalty), McConnell, Harmatiuk
 4: Fishback, Faria, D. Facchini, Russell
11: Blair, Burmeister, Castro, Russell
12: D. Facchini, McConnell, Marquez, N. Facchini
13: Gomez, Holt, Fishback (fell, remounted), Harmatiuk (engine failure)
14: Faria, Pappalardo, Raines, Talkington
21: Faria, Blair, N. Facchini, Harmatiuk
22: (restarted) Burmeister, Fishback, Talkington, Marquez (non starter – restart)
23: Castro, D. Facchini, Pappalardo, Holt
24: Gomez, Russell, McConnell, Raines
27: Blair, Gomez, Talkington, D. Facchini
28: Russell, Pappalardo, Harmatiuk, Marquez
29: Faria, Burmeister, McConnell, Holt
30: Castro, Fishback, N. Facchini, Raines
Runoff: Talkington, McConnell, Pappalardo, Russell

First Division Last Chance
 14 - Eddie Castro
 25 - Jimmy Fishback
220 - Tyson Talkington
 30 - Tim Gomez
 19 - Dale Facchini

Ken Maely Cup Main Event
 26 - Tyson Burmeister
 39 - Buck Blair
  9 - Mike Faria
 25 - Jimmy Fishback 		(fell, remounted)
 14 - Eddie Castro 		(tape exclusion)
www.speedwaybikes.com - All rights reserved.