American Speedway  

2009 IMS Speedway
Race Results

All Speedway Race Results

2009 West Coast Results Page

Inland Motorcycle Speedway
National Orange Show
San Bernardino, California

Skirt Night
August 14, 2009 - IMS, San Bernardino
By: Ryan Evans

Buck Blair captured the Scratch Main Event and Gino Manzares won his second straight Handicap Main Event at Inland Motorsport Speedway in San Bernardino.

Blair started in gate four but made the best start and led into the first turn. He drifted a little wide in turn two, but found ample traction on the cushion to keep himself ahead of Jimmy Fishback on the back straight. Blair led at the end of lap one with Fishback in close pursuit. Fishback was unable to close ground on the leader over the final three laps, though, and Blair was first to the checkered flag. Fishback settled for second, Tommy Hedden was third, Jason Ramirez finished fourth, and Eddie Castro was fifth.

Youth National Champion Brad Pappalardo started at the front of the eight-rider Handicap Main Event field and led the charge into the first turn. Pappalardo led for two laps but was under pressure from Manzares. Manzares went by on the inside as they entered turn three the third time. Pappalardo was pushed wide enough that Hedden and Fishback went by as well. The veterans chased the teenager but couldn’t close ground quick enough. Manzares maintained his composure the rest of the way and crossed the finish line first. Hedden was second, Fishback finished third, Tyson Burmeister was fourth, Shawn McConnell finished fifth, and Neil Facchini was sixth.

Drew Coats got the best start and led the first lap of the Second Division Main Event. Joey Holt pursued the leader and his persistence paid off when he took the lead on lap three. Holt never looked back from there and claimed the victory. Kyle Hicks finished second, Coats was third, and “Rattlesnake” Steve Bowen finished fourth.

The Third Division Main Event required three starts after crashes eliminated two riders. John Pavia led the final attempt until Ed Lynch went by on lap two. Lynch’s lead lasted one lap until he fell in turn two and handed the lead back to Pavia. That would prove to be the last lead change as Pavia led to the finish. Steve Brown finished second and Lynch was third.

Nick Varner was leading the Pee Wee Main Event went he went down and William Ballasteros, who tried to take evasive action, ran over his leg which resulted in a red flag. Varner showed his grit by getting back on the bike for the restart. Jimmy Fishback IV led the first lap before Varner took over. Varner led the next two laps with Ballasteros continuously hounding him. Varner led entering the final corner but Ballasteros mustered enough speed exiting turn four to win the charge to the finish line. Hanna Smith finished third, Dakota Shockley was fourth, and Jimmy Fishback IV finished fifth.


Pee Wee Main Event (restarted) 
  7 - William Ballasteros 
  3 - Nick Varner 
  9 - Hanna Smith 
 34 - Dakota Shockley 
275 - Jimmy Fishback IV 

Third Division Main Event (restarted) 
355 - John Pavia 		0 
211 - Steve Brown 		0 
354 - Ed Lynch 			10	(fell, remounted) 
224 - Ben Mears 		20 	(non starter - restart) 
189 - Chris Thomas 		10 	(non starter -restart) 
226 - Rick Huspek 		0 

Second Division Consolation 
201 - Dylan Black 
212 - Steve Dziadus 
208 - Geoff Herkner 

Second Division Main Event 
244 - Joey Holt 
103 - Kyle Hicks 
195 - Drew Coats 
177 - Steve Bowen 

Handicap Main Event 
221 - Gino Manzares 		20 
 25 - Jimmy Fishback 		40 
 40 - Tommy Hedden 		40 
184 - Tyson Burmeister 		30 
  6 - Shawn McConnell 		50 
 86 - Neil Facchini 		30 
24n - Ben Essary 		20 
145 - Brad Pappalardo 		10 	(fell) 

First Division Last Chance 
 25 - Jimmy Fishback 
221 - Gino Manzares 
 86 - Neil Facchini 
 11 - Bobby Schwartz 

Scratch Main Event 
 39 - Buck Blair 
 25 - Jimmy Fishback 
 40 - Tommy Hedden 
 66 - Jason Ramirez 
 14 - Eddie Castro
www.speedwaybikes.com - All rights reserved.